FANDOM


N°6                         

 


Harper Avery est le chirurgien d'après lequel le Harper Avery (Prix) est nommé, et est aussi le grand-père de Jackson Avery.

HistoireModifier

HospitalisationModifier

6x16-7

Harper Avery admis au Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital

Le Dr. Avery est admis au Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital après s'être évanoui dans un restaurant avec une douleur abdominale, pendant qu'il mangeait avec Jackson. Alors qu'il est à l'hôpital, il demande un chirurgien expérimenté, d'abord Ellis Grey, puis en apprenant son décès, Richard Webber, qui lui diagnostique une occlusion intestinale et prévoit que Bailey réalise l'intervention.

Harper insiste pour que Webber opère lui-même et il dit qu'il veut être réveillé durant l'opération pour pouvoir regarder. Il leur fait un discours pour les convaincre de l'autoriser. Durant l'opération, il devient instable, mais refuse quand même d'être endormi. Il commencent à bredouiller, mais il se stabilise quand ils en trouvent la cause et l'arrangent. Quand Richard referme, Harper insiste pour utiliser des sutures en chrome.

Il est réveillé et stable après son opération, mais devient ensuite instable et on lui dit qu'il a besoin d'une seconde opération. Toutefois, Derek insiste cette fois pour qu'il soit anesthésié et que Jackson attende dans la salle d'attente. Au bloc, ils découvrent qu'il a eu une réaction allergique aux sutures chromiques. Ils réparent les dégâts.

Quand il se réveille, il encourage Richard à reprendre ses recherches, disant qu'elles l'ont mis dans la liste pour gagner un Harper Avery plusieurs fois.

Il rencontre ensuite quelques résidents de l'hôpital après que Jackson les a amenés.

RelationsModifier

FamilialesModifier

Jackson Avery est son petit-fils. Il lui a gardé une place au Massachusetts General Hospital et est contrarié quand Jackson insiste pour prendre une place à Mercy West Medical Center.

CarrièreModifier

Le Dr. Harper Avery, et son prix éponyme, ont obtenu beaucoup d'attention, le prix étant très convoité au sein de la médecine.

Le Dr. Avery travaille comme chirurgien titulaire au Massachusetts General Hospital, qu'il considère comme le meilleur établissement du pays, et a aussi gardé une place de résident en chirurgie pour son petit-fils depuis l'obtention de son diplôme -une place qui a été refusée plusieurs fois, étant donné que Jackson ne veut pas travailler avec lui pour des raisons de favoritisme.

Dr. Avery connait Ellis Grey et ses prouesses, la fondation l'ayant récompensée deux fois, et aussi Richard Webber, l'ayant nominé comme candidat pour ses recherches passées dans la médecine régénérative.

AnecdotesModifier

  • Il est allergiques aux sutures chromiques, mais ne le savait pas parce qu'il porte toujours des gants quand il opère.

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

FANDOM


Harper Avery was the surgeon who founded the Harper Avery Foundation and was the namesake of the Harper Avery Award. He was also Jackson's grandfather.

HistoryEdit

HospitalizationEdit

6x16-7

Harper Avery admitted to Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital

Dr. Avery was admitted to Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital following collapsing in a restaurant with abdominal pain, while having a meal with Jackson. While at the hospital, he requested an experienced surgeon, first requesting Ellis Grey, and upon learning that she had passed, requested Richard Webber, who diagnosed a bowel obstruction and planned to have Bailey operate.

Harper insisted that Webber operate himself and he said he wanted to be awake during the surgery so he could watch. He gave them a speech in order to convince them to allow it. In surgery, he became unstable, but still refused to be put under. His speech started slurring, but then he stabilized when they found the cause and fixed it. When Richard went to close, he insisted on chromic sutures.

He was awake and stable after his surgery, but then became unstable and was told he needed a second surgery. However, Derek insisted this time that he be anesthetized and that Jackson had to wait in the waiting room. In surgery, they discovered that he had had an allergic reaction to the chromic sutures. They repaired the damage.

When he woke up from his surgery, he encouraged Richard to brush the dust of his research, saying it had put him on the shortlist of the Harper Avery Award several times.

He then met some of the other residents at the hospital after Jackson brought them in. ("Perfect Little Accident")

Visiting Grey SloanEdit

Harper and Catherine came to town to look over the expenditures at the hospital as part of the renovation after the fire. After reviewing the numbers, Harper wanted to pull out Harper Avery Foundation funding. Bailey explained to him why he shouldn't do that and he agreed not to pull out, but then he fired Bailey instead. Catherine told Bailey she'd go to bat against Harper for her, but before she could, they found Harper dead in the conference room. ("Go Big or Go Home")

Sexual Assault RevealEdit

Months after his death, Harper Avery was publicly accused of assault by Rebecca Froy after the NDA preventing her from talking about it was waived by an unknowing Jackson. ("Beautiful Dreamer")

As accusations continued to pile up, Catherine, as suggested by Jackson and Meredith, decided to dissolve the Harper Avery Foundation and create the Catherine Fox Foundation in its place, a foundation dedicated to healing the wounds caused by Harper Avery. ("Bad Reputation")

RelationshipsEdit

FamilialEdit

Jackson Avery is his grandson. He held a spot at Massachusetts General Hospital for Jackson and was upset when he instead took the spot at Mercy West Medical Center.

He is estranged from his son, Robert.

CareerEdit

Dr. Harper Avery, and his namesake award, has brought much attention to himself, with the award being highly coveted in the medical field.

Dr. Avery works as an attending surgeon at Massachusetts General Hospital, which he considers the best facility in the country, and has also saved a place as a surgical resident for his grandson since he graduated - a place which has been rejected multiple times, as Jackson refuses to work for him over nepotistic concerns.

Dr. Avery is well aware of Ellis Grey and her achievements, the foundation having awarded her its prize twice, and also Richard Webber, having short-listed him as a candidate for his award due to his past research in regenerative medicine.

Notes and TriviaEdit

  • He's allergic to chromic sutures, but didn't know it because he always wore gloves when he operated.[1]

GalleryEdit

AppearancesEdit

Episode StillsEdit

ReferencesEdit