FANDOM


N°8  N°9  N°10  N°11  N°12  N°13             

 

Chatherine Avery (née Fox) est une urologue brillante au Brigham and Women's Hospital qui vient occasionnellement au Grey Sloan Memorial Hospital pour consulter ou rendre visite à son mari Richard Webber et son fils Jackson. Elle est aussi la présidente du conseil de la Fondation Harper Avery.

Histoire du personnage Modifier

Première greffe pénienne Modifier

Catherine Avery arrive pour la première fois au Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital quand elle pratique une greffe pénienne sur Ryan. Elle présente le cas à tous les médecins et demande aux résidents d'aller travailler au laboratoire pour voir qui gagnerait la chance de l'assister au bloc. Jackson et Meredith sont les derniers à rester et se préparent à assister, avec Mark. Quand Meredith doit sortir au milieu de l'opération, April, qui est en train d'observer, et qui à aidé à récupérer le greffon, est choisie pour y aller. Quand April aspire trop agressivement, Mark et Jackson doivent récolter une nouvelle veine pour greffer le flux sanguin. L'opération se termine avec succès et Ryan et ravi du résultat final. ("Et la femme créa l'homme...")

Reconstruction de vessie Modifier

Catherine retourne à Seattle pour aider à reconstruire la vessie d'Irene. Ils utilisent ses propres cellules souches pour faire croître une vessie que son corps ne pourrait pas rejeter. L'opération se déroule bien et le problème d'incontinence d'Irene est résolu. Catherine amène avec elle sa résidente, Mara Keaton, avec l'espoir d'en apprendre plus sur la vie personnelle de son fils. Jackson découvre son plan et refuse de dire quoi que ce soit à Mara. ("Un pas de trop")

Examens oraux Modifier

Catherine est examinatrice aux oraux de chirurgie l'année où son fils les passe. ("Quand il faut y aller")

Jackson est déconcerté parce qu'il peut l'entendre à travers le mur alors qu'il essaie de se concentrer, après avoir découvert qu'elle avait couché avec Richard la nuit d'avant.

Plus tard, Catherine dit à Richard qu'elle a parlé avec quelques uns de ses amis et qu'elle a découvert qu'un des médecins du Seattle Grace a échoué. Elle a peur que ce soit Jackson, parce qu'il a été traumatisé par ce qu'il a vu. ("Moment de vérité")

Lymphoedème du scrotum Modifier

Catherine revient encore à l'hôpital pour traiter Byan Greenberg, qui a un lymphœdème du scrotum. Pendant cette visite, April l'évite parce qu'elle sait que Catherine découvrirait qu'elle a fait l'amour étant donné que Catherine est obsédée par sa vie sexuelle. ("Chacun sa bulle")

Achat de l'hôpital Modifier

Après une conversation avec Richard Webber concernant leur principal investisseur, Julian Crest, qui a écouhé, Catherine Avery, avec la Fondation Harper Avery, décide de contribuer des fonds nécessaires pour acheter le Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital. Comme précaution cependant, Catherine veut un représentant de son choix pour présider le conseil et choisit son fils, Jackson Avery. ("Le rendez-vous de la dernière chance")

Richard pense que c'est trop de responsabilités pour Jackson mais Catherine lui assure qu'il peut le gérer étant donné que c'est un Avery. Elle lui donne des conseils pour l'aider et il accepte finalement le challenge. ("Greffes en série")

Accident et rétablissement de Richard Modifier

Quand Richard est électrocuté, Catherine vient à l'hôpital et critique immédiatement le façon sont son cas est traité. Elle veut le changer d'hôpital, mais il avait mandaté Meredith comme personne à contacter en cas d'urgence donc elle n'a aucune autorité sur lui. ("Après l'orage (2/2)")

Plus tard, elle pense que son rétablissement a été entravé par le personnel de l'hôpital qui le dorlotait parce qu'ils l'aimaient et le craignaient. Elle est impressionnée quand elle voit Richard demander que le personnel le traite comme il traiterait n'importe quel autre patient. ("Mère et chirurgien")

Anniversaire de Richard Modifier

Le jour de l'anniversaire de Richard, Catherine lui dit qu'elle serait dans les parages donc il suppose qu'ils feraient quelque chose pour son anniversaire, comme une fête. Plus tard, ils vont dîner et elle la mène à sa fête surprise. ("Sauve qui peut")

Nomination de Cristina au Harper Avery Modifier

Catherine présente le Harper Avery l'année où Cristina est nominée. Cependant, le prix revient à quelqu'un d'autre. ("Nuit blanche")

Plus tard, elle dit à Richard que Cristina avait les votes mais qu'elle a perdu à cause des parts de la Fondation Harper Avery dans l'hôpital. Ils ne voulaient pas qu'on ait l'impression qu'elle avait gagné juste parce que la Fondation possédait l'hôpital. ("Les raisons du coeur")

Naissance et mort de Samuel Modifier

Quand elle apprend qu'April est enceinte, Catherine vient à Seattle pour les voir elle et Jackson. Pendant qu'elle est là, il y a une explosion dans un centre commercial. Lorsqu'elle voit qu'April s'inquiète de l'état du monde et d'élever son enfant dedans, elle lui dit que le monde est changé par les gens biens qui élèvent correctement leurs enfants, et lui dit que tout ira bien. ("Ceux qui restent, ceux qui partent")

Quand April et Jackson apprennent que leur bébé a une ostéogénèse imparfaite, qu'il souffre et que ses os commencent déjà à se casser, Catherine vient à Seattle et dit à April de se prendre une journée, durant laquelle on déclenchera l'accouchement et on bâtisera l'enfant juste dans la chambre d'hôpital, et elle lui dit qu'elle pourra le tenir jusqu'à ce qu'il meure. ("Besoin d'un miracle")

Amputation de pénis Modifier

Quand Thomas Archibald arrive à l'hôpital après que sa femme ait coupé son pénis en découvrant qu'il la trompait avec sa sous-chef, Catherine, qui est en ville pour une conférence, est appelée pour le rattacher. Le rattachement se passe bien mais peu après le pénis est recoupé. Le deuxième rattachement est aussi un succès. ("Folle de lui")

Nouveau Chef Modifier

Quand Owen Hunt quitte le poste de Chef de Chirurgie, le Conseil doit élire un nouveau Chef. ("Le temps s'arrête...") Richard propose Miranda Bailey, mais Catherine insiste pour qu'elle soit contre un autre candidat de son choix.("...La vie reprend")

Elle propose Tracy McConnell, mais Miranda gagne finalement et est nommée nouvelle Chef de la Chirurgie. ("Prête ?")

Deuxième grossesse d'April Modifier

Quand elle découvre qu'April est à nouveau enceinte, Catherine vient à Seattle. Elle parle à April de sa propre expérience avec la grossesse et la conversation en apparence paisible mène April à demander la paix à Jackson. Toutefois, Catherine lui révèle qu'elle a parlé à April pour obtenir la preuve qu'elle a fraudé et ainsi la poursuivre. ("Rétablir le contact")

Petite fête de Richard Modifier

Quand Catherine prévoir une visite à Seattle, Richard organise une petite fête avec quelques amis. Cependant, elle le surprend en arrivant une semaine plus tôt, disant qu'elle ne pouvait pas attendre pour le voir. ("Amour et conséquences")

Visite au nouveau bébéModifier

Après qu'April ait accouché, Catherine vient leur rendre visite à toutes les deux. Elle est enchantée d'apprendre qu'ils ont appelé le bébé Harriet, mais pas contente d'apprendre que son nom de famille n'est pas Avery. Quand elle leur demande pourquoi ils ne mettent pas les deux noms, Jackson leur dit que c'est ce qu'ils ont fait. Le nom de famille du bébé est Kepner-Avery. ("Au pied du mur")

Programme de résidenceModifier

Catherine vient à l'hôpital pour rencontrer Bailey à propos d'Alex. Elle pense que Bailey est trop laxiste et veut qu'elle le remplace. A la fin de la journée, Bailey s'impose et dit qu'elle ne virerait pas Alex. Catherine dit qu'elle est d'accord, mais dit que trop de gens ont eu des secondes chances et elle se demande pourquoi ils en ont eu besoin à la base. Elle veut travailler sur le programme de résidence pour lui rendre sa gloire d'antan. ("Sur la sellette")

Comme solution, elle engage Eliza Minnick. ("La liste")

Quand Catherine revient pour voir les progrès de Bailey, elle est choquée d'apprendre la résistance des titulaires au changement. ("Changement de direction")

Richard apprend que c'était sa décision d'engager Eliza pour le remplacer, le faisant se sentir trahi. ("La guerre est déclarée")

Dispute avec Richard et JacksonModifier

Alors qu'ils travaillent ensemble à l'hôpital, Catherine se dispute avec Jackson et Richard au sujet de ce qu'elle a fait. Ils continuent de se disputer tout en traitant un patient ensemble. ("Cause perdue")

Jackson retrouve son pèreModifier

Catherine garde Harriet pendant quelque jours alors qu'April et Jackson se rendent dans le Montana pour un cas. Jackson retrouve son père et fait la paix avec lui. Quand il revient à Seattle, il remercie sa mère pour tout ce qu'elle a fait pour lui. ("Corde sensible")

Conférence de presseModifier

Catherine assiste à la conférence de presse sur le travail de Meredith et Nathan dans l'avion. ("Arrête-moi si tu peux")

Explosion de l'hôpitalModifier

Quand Catherine apprend qu'il y a eu une explosion à l'hôpital et que Stephanie a été enlevée par un violeur, elle convoque Bailey, Richard et Eliza et leur demande comment ça s'est passé et pourquoi ça a pris autant de temps de retrouver Stephanie. Eliza lui dit qu'elle a oublié de prévenir la police de la disparition de Stephanie parce qu'elle suivait le protocole et évacuait les patients, ce qui a mis Bailey en colère. Elle la vire sur le champs, disant qu'ils n'ont pas de place pour quelqu'un qui ne sait pas quand faire abstraction du protocole. Elle ne veut pas créer un endroit qui forme des robots chirurgicaux. Elle veut que leur programme forme des chirurgiens. Catherine commence à s'opposer mais Bailey dit qu'elle est la Chef et qu'elle a pris sa décision. ("A l'épreuve des flammes")

Relations Modifier

Amoureuses Modifier

Robert Avery Modifier

Catherine était mariée à Robert Avery, le père de Jackson. Il a été révélé qu'il a essayé de prendre Jackson à l'autre bout tu pays, loin de Catherine mais elle l'a poursuivi pour ses droits parentaux. Il est désormais éloigné de Jackson.

Richard Webber Modifier

Quand Catherine revient à l'hôpital pour une greffe de vessie, utilisant une vessie qu'elle a développée à partir de zéro, elle drague ouvertement Richard. Au début, il flirte aussi avec elle parce qu'il considère ça innocemment. Quand Jackson, qui devait être son cavalier pour le gala de charité l'abandonne, Catherine demande à Richard d'être son cavalier et il accepte. Toutefois, ce soir-là, il lui dit qu'il a bien peur de ne pas pouvoir l'accompagner parce que sa femme atteinte d'Alzheimer est à la maison. Adele ne le reconnait plus et ça lui manque de parler et rire avec elle. Il ne se sent plus homme avec elle, et la drague de Catherine l'a fait se sentir homme à nouveau, ce pourquoi il ne se faisait pas confiance pour aller dîner avec elle. Elle lui dit qu'il est un homme bien et ils se prennent dans les bras, après quoi il a laisse pour rejoindre Adele. ("Un pas de trop")

Ils se rencontrent à nouveau aux oraux de chirurgie, où ils sont examinateurs tous les deux. Ils dinent ensemble et Richard avoue qu'il n'a pas vu Adele depuis un moment, étant donné que ça semblait l'embrouiller encore plus. Ils continuent de flirter et finissent par s'embrasser dans la chambre d'hotel de Catherine. Il hésite avant de continuer mais un regard d'amour de Catherine le convainc de continuer. Jackson découvre qu'ils ont passé la nuit ensemble quand il va dans la chambre de sa mère lui demander son stylo porte-bonheur. ("Quand il faut y aller")

Richard et Catherine ne regrettent pas leur nuit ensemble. Catherine a une courte conversation avec Jackson durant laquelle elle lui dit qu'elle est une femme avec des besoins. Après la fin des oraux, pendent leur au-revoir, Catherine et Richard découvre qu'ils participent tous les deux à une conférence à venir. Ils comparent leurs agendas et font en sorte de rester au même hôtel. ("Moment de vérité")

Ils continuent de développer cette relation. Après la mort de sa femme, Catherine lui envoie une boîte de cookies et lui propose sa compagnie. ("Main dans la main")

Quand il apparait que le Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital va être racheté par Pegasus Horizons, Richard envisage de déménager à Boston pour être plus proche d'elle. Cependant, elle propose que la Fondation Harper Avery finance la part de capital dont ils ont besoin, en échange d'un siège au Conseil. ("Le rendez-vous de la dernière chance")

Quand Cristina Yang ne gagne pas le prix Harper Avery, Richard va à Boston. Il avait prévu de faire sa demande en mariage, mais pose des questions à propos de la décision de la Fondation de donner le prix à quelqu'un d'autre. Quand Catherine admet que Cristina avait les votes mais qu'elle n'a pas gagné parce que la Fondation possédait l'hôpital, il lui montre la bague en disant qu'elle avait tout gâché et part. ("Les raisons du coeur")

Ils s'évitent durant les visites suivantes, mais quand Catherine apprend que le bébé de Jackson et April est sur le point de mourir, Richard décide d'être disponible au cas où si elle aurait besoin de lui. Elle lui dit d'abord qu'elle veut être seule mais plus tard, lui demande de la ramener chez elle et ils se prennent dans les bras. ("Besoin d'un miracle")

Par la suite, il essaie de la convaincre de laisser de l'espace à Jackson et April pour qu'ils puissent faire leur deuil seuls, mais elle insiste pour demande à Jackson comment va April. Richard se sent utilisé, pensant qu'elle venait le voir pour avoir une excuse pour veiller sur April. ("Vivre de faux-semblants")

Plus tard, quand April appelle Catherine pour rattacher le pénis d'un homme, Richard essaie de l'arrêter. Il dit à Catherine qu'elle l'a blessé. Elle dit que c'est déjà arrivé à beaucoup d'hommes et que ça arriverait probablement à nouveau mais que ça valait la peine de prendre le risque. ("Folle de lui")

Quand Richard essaie de faire sa demande en mariage le 4 Juillet (jour de l'indépendance des USA), elle l'arrête avant qu'il sorte la bague, lui disant qu'il ne peut demander sans connaître la réponse. Cependant, pour la Saint Valentin suivante, elle prend les rênes et fait sa demande elle-même, faisant un geste romantique avec des bougies et des roses. Il accepte. ("Partir sans un mot")

Après que l'effondrement d'un tunnel chamboule leurs organisation du mariage, ils se marient lors d'une petite cérémonie dans la chapelle de l'hôpital et font la réception dans la maison de Meredith et Derek. Avant le mariage, ils se disputent et Catherine enlève sa bague, mais Meredith leur dit de faire avec parce qu'ils n'auront jamais assez de temps pour être avec les gens qu'ils aiment. ("...La vie reprend")

Leur relation est tendue quand il apprend que c'est elle qui a décidé d'engager Eliza pour le remplacer, et pas Bailey. ("La guerre est déclarée")

Après avoir parlé à Bailey du fait que leurs vies ont pris des chemins similaires et que ni l'une ni l'autre ne savait comment être mariée au début, Catherine va voir Richard et admet qu'elle a commis une faute, commençant le chemin de la réconciliation. ("Arrête-moi si tu peux")

Familiales Modifier

Jackson Avery Modifier

Jackson Avery est son fils. Il est facilement irrité parce qu'elle se même de sa vie privée. Même si il ne lui a pas dit le nom de Lexie lorsqu'ils sortaient ensemble, elle révèle le connaitre et dit qu'elle a ses méthodes quand il lui demande comment elle l'a su. ("Et la femme créa l'homme...")

Quand Jackson commence à fréquenter Stephanie, Catherine les surprend au lit, ce qui lui donne une mauvaise première impression de Stephanie. Après avoir travaillé sur un cas avec elle cependant, elle accepter d'oublier l'incident et de repartir de zéro. ("Mère et chirurgien")

Quand il s'enfuit avec April, elle insiste pour qu'ils élaborent et signent un contrat post-mariage pour protéger les atouts des Avery. Ils le font, se forçant à constater à quel points leurs plans pour leurs futurs enfants sont différents. ("Sauve qui peut")

Elle dit à April que quand elle était enceinte de Jackson, elle était toujours fatiguée et ballonnée. ("Prête ?")

Elle devient grand-mère quand la fille de Jackson avec April arrive par césarienne d'urgence.

Quand Jackson rend visite à son père, Robert Avery, il réalise que Robert n'est pas son père parce qu'il n'a pas été impliqué dans sa vie. Quand il revient du Montana, il remercie Catherine pour tout et la prend dans ses bras. ("Corde sensible")

Carrière Modifier

Catherine est une urologue titulaire au Brigham and Women's Hospital. Elle est aussi Présidente du Conseil de la Fondation Harper Avery.

Elle consulte occasionnellement au GSMH et pratique la première greffe pénienne du pays là-bas (lorsqu'il s'appelait encore le Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital). ("Et la femme créa l'homme...")

En 2012, elle est examinatrice pour les oraux de chirurgie à San Francisco. ("Quand il faut y aller")

Anecdotes Modifier

  • Quand Catherine vient au GSMH, elle amène sa propre blouse du Brigham and Women's Hospital. Elle porte aussi parfois une blouse du GSMH.
  • Catherine dit qu'elle a sa propre manière de connaitre des détails sur la vie de Jackson.
  • Elle était amie avec April Kepner sur Facebook. ("Et la femme créa l'homme...")
  • Quand elle avait 10 ans, elle adorait les gaufres. ("Ceux qui restent, ceux qui partent")
  • Elle déteste les œufs. ("Ceux qui restent, ceux qui partent")
  • Elle est la meilleure du pays en manière de rattachement de pénis.
  • Le calot de chirurgien de Catherine a un fond rouge-orange avec des fleurs jaunes.
  • Dans la saison 11, ses cheveux sont courts. ("Besoin d'un miracle")
  • Elle a demandé à une étudiante d'espionner Jackson pour savoir tout sur sa vie car Jackson ne lui dit rien.

GalerieModifier

ApparitionsModifier

EpisodesModifier

ApparitionsModifier



Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

FANDOM


Now give your mama a kiss, Jackson. She just bought you a hospital.
Catherine Avery to Jackson Avery

Catherine Avery (née Fox) is a brilliant urologist at Brigham and Women's Hospital and a part-time staff surgeon at Grey Sloan Memorial Hospital. Her husband is Richard Webber and her son is Jackson. She's also the board chairman of the Harper Avery Foundation.

HistoryEdit

First Penile TransplantEdit

Catherine Avery first came to Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital when she performed a penile transplant on Ryan. She presented the case at grand rounds and then set all the residents up in a lab to see who would win the chance to assist her in the OR. Jackson and Meredith were the last two standing and scrubbed in to assist, along with Mark. When Meredith had to step out in the middle of the operation, April, who was observing and who had helped retrieve the graft, was selected to step in. When April suctioned too aggressively, Mark and Jackson had to harvest a new vein to graft blood flow. The surgery was finished successfully and Ryan was pleased with the end result. ("Love, Loss and Legacy")

Bladder ReconstructionEdit

Catherine returned to Seattle to help reconstruct the bladder of Irene. They'd used her own stem cells to grow a bladder that her body wouldn't reject. The surgery went well and Irene's urinary incontinence was resolved. She brought along her fellow, Mara Keaton, with the hopes of getting more information about Jackson's personal life. Jackson figured out her plan and refused to tell Mara anything. ("One Step Too Far")

Founders of Medicine BenefitEdit

She originally planned for Jackson to be her date to the benefit, but he backed out and convinced Mara also not to attend. She tried to get Richard to attend with her, but he also declined, feeling disloyal to his wife. ("One Step Too Far")

Oral BoardsEdit

Catherine was a proctor at the oral boards the same year her son was taking them. ("Moment of Truth")

Jackson was rattled because he could hear her through the walls as he was trying to concentrate on his test, after finding out that she had slept with Richard the night before.

Catherine later told Richard that she'd checked with some of her friends and found out that one of the Seattle Grace doctors didn't pass. She worried that Jackson had failed because he was traumatized by what he'd seen. ("Let the Bad Times Roll")

Scrotal LymphedemaEdit

Catherine returned to the hospital again to treat Bryan Greenberg, who had scrotal lymphedema. During that visit, April also avoided her because she knew Catherine would figure out she'd been having sex because she was obsessed with April's sex life. ("I Saw Her Standing There")

Purchasing the HospitalEdit

After a conversation with Richard Webber regarding their primary investor, Julian Crest, falling through, Catherine Avery, along with the Harper Avery Foundation, decided to contribute the necessary funds to purchase Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital. As a caveat, however, Catherine wanted a representative of their choosing to sit on the board as chairman and selected her son, Jackson Avery. ("This is Why We Fight")

Richard believed that it was too much responsibility for Jackson to handle, but Catherine assured him that Jackson could handle it as he's an Avery. She gave him tips to help him and he ultimately stepped up to the challenge. ("Transplant Wasteland")

Richard's Accident and RecoveryEdit

When Richard was electrocuted, Catherine came to the hospital and immediately criticized how his case was being handled. Catherine wanted to move him to another hospital, but he'd listed Meredith as his medical proxy, so she didn't have the authority. ("I Want You With Me")

She later believed his recovery was being hindered by the staff at the hospital, whom she said were coddling him because they love and fear him. She was impressed when she saw Richard demanding that his staff treat him as they would any other patient. ("I Bet It Stung")

Richard's BirthdayEdit

On Richard's birthday, Catherine told him she'd be around, so he assumed they'd be doing something for his birthday, like a party. They later went to get dinner and she led him into his surprise party. ("We Gotta Get Out of This Place")

Cristina's Harper Avery Award NominationEdit

Catherine presented the Harper Avery Award the year Cristina was nominated. However, the award was given to someone else. ("Go It Alone")

She later told Richard that Cristina had the votes, but had lost because of the Harper Avery Foundation's interest in the hospital. They didn't want it to look like she won simply because the Harper Avery Foundation owns the hospital. ("Change of Heart")

Birth and Death of SamuelEdit

When she learned April was pregnant, Catherine came to visit Seattle to see her and Jackson. While she was there, there was an explosion at a mall. When she saw April worried about the state of the world and raising her child in it, she told April that the world changed by good people raising their babies right and told April she'd be okay. ("Fear (of the Unknown)")

When April and Jackson learned that their baby had osteogenesis imperfecta and was in pain as his bones were already breaking, Catherine came to Seattle and told April to set aside a day, during which they'd induce labor and she'd have him baptized right in the hospital room, then she could hold him until he died. ("All I Could Do Was Cry")

Penis AmputationEdit

When Thomas Archibald came into the hospital after his wife cut his penis off upon finding out he was cheating with his sous-chef, Catherine, who was in town for a conference, was called in to re-attach it. The re-attachment was successful, but shortly thereafter, his penis was cut off again. The second re-attachment was also successful. ("Crazy Love")

New ChiefEdit

When Owen Hunt stepped down as Chief of Surgery, the board needed to vote in a new Chief. ("Time Stops") Richard suggested Miranda Bailey, but Catherine insisted that she go against an outside candidate of her own choosing. ("You're My Home")

She brought in Tracy McConnell, but Miranda Bailey ultimately won and was named the new Chief of Surgery. ("Sledgehammer")

April's Second PregnancyEdit

When she found out April was pregnant again, Catherine came to Seattle. She spoke to April about her own experience with pregnancy and the seemingly peaceful conversation led April to extend an olive branch to Jackson. However, Catherine revealed to him that she had talked to April to get proof that April had committed fraud so they could go after her. ("When It Hurts So Bad")

She tried to get Jackson to make a case for getting sole custody once the baby was born, but instead, he tried approaching April peacefully, which worked. ("I Wear the Face")

Richard's Get-TogetherEdit

When Catherine planned a visit to Seattle, Richard planned a small get-together with a few friends. However, she surprised him by showing up a week early, saying she couldn't wait to see him. ("At Last")

Visiting the New BabyEdit

After April gave birth to her daughter, Catherine came to visit them both. She was delighted to hear they'd named the baby Harriet, but dismayed to learn the baby's last name wasn't Avery. When she questioned why they couldn't hyphenate, Jackson told her they had. The baby's last name was Kepner-Avery. ("Undo")

Re-Working the Residency ProgramEdit

Catherine came to the hospital to meet with Bailey about Alex. She believed Bailey was being too lenient and wanted Bailey to replace Alex. At the end of the day, Bailey took a stand and said she wasn't going to fire Alex. Catherine said that was fine, but then said too many people had gotten second chances and she wondered why they needed them in the first place. She wanted to work on the surgical residency program to return it to its former glory. ("Roar")

As a solution, she hired Eliza Minnick. ("Why Try to Change Me Now")

When Catherine came back to check on Bailey's progress, she was shocked to hear how resistant the attendings were to the change. She offered to let Bailey release her on them if she needed. ("None of Your Business")

Richard learned that it had been her decision to hire Eliza to replace him, making him feel betrayed. ("It Only Gets Much Worse")

Fight with Richard and JacksonEdit

While working together at the hospital, Catherine butted heads with both Jackson and Richard over what she had done. They continued to fight as they treated a patient together. ("Civil War")

Jackson Finding His FatherEdit

Catherine watched Harriet for a few days while April and Jackson went to Montana for a case. While Jackson was there, he met up with his estranged father and made peace with him not being around. When Jackson returned to Seattle, he thanked his mother for everything she'd done for him. ("Who Is He (And What Is He To You)?")

Press ConferenceEdit

Catherine attended the press conference about Meredith and Nathan's work on the plane. ("Don't Stop Me Now")

Hospital FireEdit

When Catherine learned about the hospital fire and Stephanie being taken by a rapist, she called Bailey, Richard, and Eliza into a room and questioned how it happened and why it took so long to find Stephanie. Eliza told her about forgetting to tell the cops about Stephanie being missing because she was following protocol and evacuating patients. This upset Bailey, who fired Eliza on the spot, saying they had no room for someone who didn't know when to violate protocol. She didn't want a place that churned out surgical robots. She wanted their program to raise surgeons. Catherine started to object, but Bailey said she was the chief and she'd made her decision. ("Ring of Fire")

Harper's VisitEdit

Harper and Catherine came to town to look over the expenditures at the hospital as part of the renovation after the fire. After reviewing the numbers, Harper wanted to pull out Harper Avery Foundation funding. Bailey explained to him why he shouldn't do that and he agreed not to pull out, but then he fired Bailey instead. Catherine told Bailey she'd go to bat against Harper for her, but before she could, they found Harper dead in the conference room. ("Go Big or Go Home")

Harper's FuneralEdit

After Harper's funeral, which she said was full of people saying only positive things about Harper, Catherine and Richard had a family dinner with Jackson and Maggie, at which she reveal that Jackson was inheriting millions of dollars from his grandfather. ("Ain't That a Kick in the Head")

RelationshipsEdit

RomanticEdit

Robert AveryEdit

Catherine was married to Robert Avery, who is the father of Jackson. It was revealed that he tried to take Jackson across the country away from Catherine, but she wouldn't put up with it and sued him for parental rights. He is currently estranged from Jackson. ("I Wear the Face")

Richard WebberEdit

When Catherine returned to the hospital for a bladder transplant using a bladder they had grown from scratch, Catherine openly flirted with Richard. Initially, he flirted back with her because he considered it innocent. When Jackson ditched her as her date for a benefit, Catherine asked Richard to be her date and he agreed. However, that evening, he told her he was afraid he couldn't accompany her, because his wife was in a home with Alzheimer's. Adele didn't recognize him anymore and he missed talking to her and laughing with her. He didn't feel like a man anymore with Adele, and Catherine's flirting made him feel like a man again. That made him not trust himself to go to dinner with Catherine. She told him he was a good man and they hugged, after which he left to go see Adele. ("One Step Too Far")

They met again at the boards, where they both were examiners. They had dinner together and he confessed he hadn't seen Adele in a long time, as it only seemed to confuse her more. They continued their flirting and after she got the check, they ended up kissing in her hotel room. He hesitated before progressing, but a loving look from Catherine convinced him to proceed. Jackson found out about their night together when he came to her room to ask for his lucky pencil. ("Moment of Truth")

Richard and Catherine didn't regret their night together. Catherine had a short conversation with Jackson where she told him she was a woman with needs. After the boards were over, during their goodbye, Catherine and Richard discovered they were both speaking at an upcoming conference. They compared agendas and made plans to stay in the same hotel. ("Let the Bad Times Roll")

They continue to develop this relationship. Following the death of his wife, Catherine sent him a box of cookies and offered companionship. ("The End is the Beginning is the End")

When it looked like Seattle Grace Mercy West was going to be sold to Pegasus Horizons, Richard contemplated moving to Boston to be closer to her. However, she suggested the Harper Avery Foundation could put up the remaining capital they needed in exchange for a seat on the board. ("This is Why We Fight")

When Cristina Yang didn't win the Harper Avery Award, Richard Webber came to Boston. He was planning to propose, but questioned the foundation's decision to give the award to someone else. When Catherine admitted that she had the votes, but didn't win because the Harper Avery Foundation owns the hospital, he showed her the ring and told her she ruined it and left. ("Change of Heart")

They avoided each other during subsequent visits, but when Catherine learned that April and Jackson's baby was going to die, Richard decided to be available in case she needed him. She initially told him she wanted to be alone, but later asked him to take her home and hold her. ("All I Could Do Was Cry")

Afterward, he tried to get her to give Jackson and April space to grieve alone, but she insisted on asked Jackson how April was doing. Richard felt used, believing she'd used visiting him as an excuse to check on April. ("The Great Pretender")

When April later called Catherine to the hospital to re-attach a man's penis, Richard tried to stop her. He told Catherine she'd hurt his feelings. She said it had happened with many men before and he said that it would probably happen again, but it was worth the risk. ("Crazy Love")

When Richard later tried to propose to her on the 4th of July, she stopped him before he could get the ring out, saying he shouldn't ask without knowing the answer. However, the following Valentine's Day, she took the reins and proposed to him herself, making it a romantic gesture with candles and roses. He accepted. ("She's Leaving Home")

After a tunnel collapse botched their original wedding plans, they married in a small ceremony in the hospital chapel, with the reception following at The Dream House. Before the wedding, they argued and Catherine took off her ring, but Meredith told them to work it out because they'll never have enough time to be with the people they love. ("You're My Home")

Their relationship was strained when he learned that she had decided to hire Eliza to replace him, not Bailey. ("It Only Gets Much Worse")

After speaking with Bailey about how their lives had taken similar paths and neither of them knew how to be married at first, Catherine went to Richard and admitted she was wrong, starting them on the path to reconciliation. ("Don't Stop Me Now")

Thomas KoracickEdit

She has a romantic history with Tom Koracick. ("Ain't That a Kick in the Head")

FamilialEdit

Jackson AveryEdit

Jackson Avery is her son. He gets irritated easily because she butts into his personal life. Even though he didn't tell her Lexie's name when they were dating, she revealed that she knew it and said she had her ways when he questioned her. ("Love, Loss and Legacy")

When Jackson started seeing Stephanie, Catherine walked in on the two of them having sex, giving her a bad first impression of Stephanie. After working with Stephanie on a case, however, she agreed to forget the incident and start fresh. ("I Bet It Stung")

When he eloped with April, she insisted on them drawing up and signing a post-nuptial agreement in order to protect the Avery assets. They did so, forcing themselves to confront how different their plans for their future children were. ("We Gotta Get Out of This Place")

She told April that when she was pregnant with him, she was always tired and swollen. ("When It Hurts So Bad")

She became a Grandmother when Jackson's daughter with April arrived via emergency c-section.

When Jackson visited his father, Robert Avery, Jackson realized that Robert wasn't his dad because he hadn't been involved in his life. When he got back from Montana, he thanked Catherine for everything and hugged her. ("Who Is He (And What Is He To You)?")

CareerEdit

Catherine is an attending urologist at Brigham and Women's Hospital. She is also the chairman of the board of the Harper Avery Foundation.

She occasionally consulted at Seattle Grace Mercy West Hospital and performed the country's first penile transplant there. ("Love, Loss and Legacy")

In 2012, she served as a board examiner in San Francisco, CA. ("Moment of Truth") Between 2016 and 2017, Catherine Avery joined the surgical staff of Grey Sloan Memorial Hospital, at least part-time, as she has scheduled surgeries when she's in Seattle.

Notes and TriviaEdit

GalleryEdit

AppearancesEdit

Episode StillsEdit

Memorable QuotesEdit

Catherine: Now give your mama a kiss, Jackson. She just bought you a hospital.

Catherine: You had an opportunity to work with Derek Shepherd? And you turned it down, for plastics? Jackson Avery, who raised you when I wasn't looking?

AppearancesEdit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.